6 AM Gluten-Free Waffles

So, this past Sunday morning I was planning on toaster waffles since eggs were out of the question: we only had one egg left. The boys could have waffles and I could have a hard boiled egg. That plan would have worked if I had had more thanĀ one toaster waffle left. Oh, dear. Looks like mommy (dad usually whips up waffles or pancakes on the weekend- but he was at a Learning and the Brain Conference) has to wake up and get creative! My first reaction was to check the cupboard door where Scott tapes up frequently used recipes. Good, there is one there. I check the pantry for our AP gluten-free flour mix… dust left in it. Ahh…so on to my saving grace, Gluten-Free girl and the Chef. She has a great looking waffle recipe to save the morning: for my boys are already getting antsy and are given some O’s to tide them over. So, to make the waffles I do a hybrid of her recipe that you can find posted here, and Scott’s recipe from Cooks Illustrated.

Here is what I did:

  • 1/4 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/4 cup sweet sorghum flour
  • 1/4 cup millet flour
  • 1/4 cup teff flour
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 Tbs. sugar in the raw
  • 1/4 cup dried milk powder
  • 3 Tbs. melted unsalted butter
  • 1 3/4 cup rice milk

I combined all the dry ingrediants, mixed. Then I added the butter and rice milk and mixed well. I used about 1/3 cup per waffle in the waffle maker. We like to eat our waffles with a little coconut oil and powdered sugar and toped with strawberries. Morning saved!

Enjoy!!

2 thoughts on “6 AM Gluten-Free Waffles

  1. Davina – You’re amazing. Each time I look at your blog, I want to run and eat SOMETHING :) We must get together soon…perhaps have a cooking lesson? You: the teacher! Me: the student! D and the boys: the observers, outside players, helpers?

Leave a Reply

