Old-time Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

Those who know me, know that I used to make a mean chocolate chip cookie. I love a great chocolate chip cookie. So again, when setting out on this new journey of having to be gluten-free, I longed for those familiar foods- like my chocolate chip cookies, like my banana muffins. Soon after my “diagnosis” I attempted to make a gluten-free version of my old-time chocolate chip cookies. I failed miserably. I think the event lasted a whole afternoon. I tried one thing, the cookies would crumble before I could lift them completely off of the cookie sheet. I would add more of something to the batter (egg, butter, baking soda, baking powder, etc.) and the cookies would ooze over the cookie sheet. I would add yet another kind of gluten-free flour, and again the cookie would crumble in my hand. The cookie event ended with me in tears, craving a decent cookie, and throwing away a ton of unused cookie dough. I had not attempted to make the cookies again until recently. Now, when I first made this cookies, I had not yet discovered the wonders of Shauna Ahern and her AP flour ratio and the use of chia and flax seeds to help baked goods bind together. You can find more about this in this post. So here is what I came up with.

Old-Time Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 80 grams oat flour
  • 90 grams sweet sorghum flour
  • 30 grams garbanzo/ fava flour
  • 30 grams quinoa flour
  • 50 grams tapioca starch
  • 50 grams potato starch
  • 2 tsp ground chia seeds
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter at room temp
  • 3/4 cup sugar in the raw
  • 3/4 cup packed dark brown sugar (for this, I really pack the sugar in the measuring cup firmly)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 12 oz package of chocolate chips (I tend to use less than the package…closer to 10 oz…always like having extra chips on hand for snacking)

Preheat oven 375F. Mix butter and sugars. Add in eggs, mix. Mix in vanilla. Add flours, starches, baking soda, salt, and ground chia seeds. Mix well. Add chocolate chips and mix.

Scoop rounded tablespoons onto cookie sheet. Bake 10-12 minutes or until the tops are lightly golden. Depending on the size of your cookies, the time may be a little shorter or longer. My first batch I got excited and made VERY rounded tablespoons, so my cookies took closer to 15 minutes;-) These cookies hold up well and have a nice crisp to them. They also freeze very well.

I envision chocolate chip ice cream sandwiches in the near future!!!  Enjoy!!

4 thoughts on “Old-time Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I concur, these are awesome cookies (and the science department teachers agree)! But you’ve got to round those grams up and down — can we say 80, 90, 30… ? That would make the math easier, and we’ll actually end up with 4g more of cookies, which is great. If you want to use difficult numbers, I’ll still eat them!

  2. I have to say — and this doesn’t apply to all the gluten-free things that we’ve made so far — that these cookies are really good cookies even without the GF qualifier. They’re *real* cookies, as I think your dad said, although I might be paraphrasing him. And if the rounded-off numbers batch doesn’t turn out as well, I’ll happily admit my error, and you should totally go back to your original quirky recipe!

  3. Pingback: Gluten-free Ice Cream Sandwich | Tea For Monkeys

Leave a Reply

