Shrimp Curry

I love curry. Like, really love curry. When we went to Thailand six and a half years ago, I ate so much curry it was laughable. There may have even been an incident where I used my fingers to clean out a curry pot. So when I found a shrimp curry recipe in American Masala, I was eager to try it out. It was amazing. Since then, I have changed it around a whole bunch, but the original concept and base came from it. This recipe is super easy and can even be made earlier in the day and then you can reheat the curry base and add the shrimp when you want to eat. It is also easy to skip the shrimp and add a ton of veggies. So, so good.

  • 1 pound cleaned , rinsed, and deveined shrimp
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • fresh ground pepper corns (I use about 12 twists)
  • good hunk of fresh ginger, about 3 inches, peeled and minced
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 large red bell pepper cleaned and chopped
  • 1 tablespoon kosher salt
  • 2 large garlic cloves peeled and chopped
  • 2 teaspoons ground coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon turmeric
  • 2 cups canned chopped tomatoes
  • 1 heaping teaspoon of curry powder (I like to use Madras Curry Powder)
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1 can chopped pineapple (I like the can from Trader Joe’s for it is a bit larger than the standard can)

Heat oil in medium sized pot or pan (big enough to hold the whole curry recipe) on medium high. Add peppercorns and stir a couple of times. After a minute add the ginger, onion, and salt. Stir often. Have a 1/2 of the cup of water next to you so that when the ginger and onion starts to stick to the bottom of the pan, you can add a little water and scrape it off. After the onions have cooked for a little bit, add the pepper. Cook until the onions are lightly brown. Add garlic, turmeric, coriander, and cook about 1 minute. Add tomatoes and scrape the bottom of the pot to mix in the browned bits. Let simmer for about 5 minutes, stirring every so often. Then add curry and stir. In about a minute, add the water and coconut milk. Bring to a boil and then add the shrimp and pineapple. Cook until the shrimp are curled and just turned pink- a couple of minutes. I love to serve it over a heap of my next favorite food- jasmine rice. Enjoy!!!

onion and the pepper

heated tomatoes

Add shrimp and pineapple

Yummm!

5 thoughts on “Shrimp Curry

    • What did I think of the dish? Totally one of my favorite meals….I find myself eating just the curry sauce before it is even all the way finished. I also just make the curry sauce and eat it on jasmine rice…think I could eat this every week! If you meant what did the KIDS think of the dish- they also LOVE it…so it really is a dinner I make often;-)

      • oops….guess I left out an important word. I meant to ask, what did your kids think of this dish? thanks for figuring that one out. I guess that’s what happen when you are writing a comment while bouncing a little kiddo on your knee 🙂

  1. I was inspired to try this when you first posted and just got around to it. Made it with chicken, and it was still delicious. Love the little kick from the curry and the sweet of the pineapples. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

