Bird Seed Ornaments

You can tell this is a rhino right?

So, for a while now I have been wanting to make bird seed ornaments with the boys. I had seen a few ‘recipes’ on how to do so- many very different from each other. Some had flour, some didn’t. Some required baking, some didn’t. So, I thought I would try to morph a few of the technique. I had it in my head that I wanted to use what we already had- so that was our animal cookie cutters and the waxed black sunflower seed. In retrospect, the animal cookie cutters may have not been the best choice…and the large sunflower seeds may not have been the best either. Also, I had to improvise as we went along. I think the next time we may try a few different things. Do you have a great technique?

Here is what we did.

I took 3 cups bird seed and added 4 packets of Knox gelatin. Added about 1/3 cup boiling water and mixed. In retrospect, I should have mixed the gelatin and water first and let it dissolve, then added the bird seed and mixed until the seeds were completely covered.

Then we spooned it into the cookie cutters on a cookie sheet lined with wax paper. Make sure to place the string (not brightly colored string for it can scare the birds) in the cutters – but do not tie them yet. Press seeds firmly into the cookie cutter molds.

press seeds in firmly

Once the seeds are in, let them dry for about 1 hour..or overnight. Once dry, remove wax paper from sheet, remove cookie molds and bake for about 1 hour in a 250F oven. When cool, gently lift off cookie sheet. Again, in retrospect I think I should have placed parchment paper on the cookie sheet, for some of the ornaments stuck to the sheet. Ughh.  Also, thinking the string ties could have been done differently. Any ideas? Overall, it was fun but think we may change a few things around the next time we make them!

George not so sure mom hit a home run on this project;-)

After hanging up ornaments, Arthur was off to more important things...practicing for the 2014 winter olympics!!!

Getting in the action

overall...a good day(s) for project and fun!!!

2 thoughts on “Bird Seed Ornaments

Leave a Reply

