Granola for Grandpa

My father loves granola. At any given time if you were to look in my parents’ pantry you would find at least 5 bags of ‘fancy’ granola. I think my dad may have it every morning for breakfast. Therefore, I thought it would be a fun gift to make him granola for Father’s Day. I thought of some of the things that I know he likes: almonds, cherries, coconut, and went from there. I also wanted to try to make it somewhat heart healthier by not adding tons of sugar. The granola was fun to make…and this is what I came up with.

Grandpa’s Granola

  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil (liquid…so I had to quickly melt it)
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 3 cups gluten-free old-fashioned rolled oats (not quick cooking)
  • 3/4 cup chopped raw almonds
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 2 Tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup raw hulled sunflower seeds
  • 1 cup chopped dried cherries (fruit juice sweetened)

Put oven at 300F. In a large bowl, mix together all the ingredients except the cherries. The cherries you will mix in after you bake the granola.

After the ingredients are mixed well and everything is evenly coated, spread the granola out on a large baking sheet. Spread it evenly.

Bake around 30 minutes or until nice and golden, stirring about every 10 minutes and then evenly spreading them out again. I put my granola in for closer to 35 minutes because we like it more crunchy than chewy.

When done, let it cool, and then mix in the cherries. Store in an airtight container and enjoy!!!!

Do you have a favorite home-made granola? Please share!!!!

7 thoughts on “Granola for Grandpa

    • Totally!!! We will have to talk about what types of things you like and then I can send some over to you…I have a couple in mind already and will try to remember to email them;-)

  1. Davina,
    Your packaging is wonderful!!! Instead of a cookie jar, we have a granola jar — batches and batches have gone down the hatches of my 3 boys/men. I buy parchment paper that is pre-cut to sheet pan size (from King Arthur Flour). Clean up is quick, and I can funnel the paper to re-load “granola jar”. Happy Summer!

    • Alice, I have this vision/ hope of my boys walking in the door from school and grabbing a handful of granola as a snack!!!! Thanks for the hint on the pre-cut parchment paper- that sounds awesome. I will have to get it. Also, I would love to get some of your most loved granola recipes…can’t believe your ‘young one’ just turned 21!!!!
      Thanks for checking out the post! xo.

  2. This looks great. I can’t wait to try it out. And what awesome presentation! I feel like this would be such a great gift as well. I have a few neighbors who just helped us out while we were away with plant-watering, etc. You’ve inspired me to gift them up some pretty granola as a thank you. Thank YOU.
    Also, here’s one of my favorite recipes for granola. http://www.alexandracooks.com/2011/10/05/when-people-come-to-visit/ It’s a food blog a friend of mine from high school writes. It’s great, and reliably mouthwatering 🙂

    • Awesome. I feel like I am getting on a granola kick and have a couple of ideas for other ones already! I LOVE your friend’s blog…and yes, it makes you just want to eat! I will totally try out that granola and think I may try out some of her other baked goods and just try to make them gluten-free;-)

  3. Pingback: Home Made Muesli | Tea For Monkeys

Leave a Reply

