Home Made Muesli

love muesli. Since my mother is from Holland, and we were fortunate enough to be able to travel over to Europe to visit family when I was growing up, we got to experience many wonderful cultures. Some of my greatest memories is of the food we ate while we were one these trips. To this day, I crave the muesli and fresh plain yogurt in those little glass cups that I gobbled up everyday during a relaxing stay in a country side Chateau in France. I also remember digging up potatoes in the garden and harvesting fresh veggies there for dinner…and fresh eggs. My goodness. Back home in the States I have always searched for that just right bowl of muesli. Then, I found out I had a nut allergy and years later found out I had celiac. Goodbye muesli. I miss it, really miss it. So you can imagine how I nearly jumped out of my pants when Shauna over at Gluten-Free Girl and the Chef had a new post titled Bob’s Red Mill Muesli. I read the post with so much excitement and longing…and then, then, I read the ingredients list. Yep, there it was Almonds. I kind of knew deep down that was going to happen. Bummed, really, really bummed. But then, hey, why don’t I just make it myself? How hard can making muesli be? Well folks, it is ridiculously easy. Check it out. Home made, gluten-free, muesli.

Home Made Gluten-Free Muesli

  • 1 1/2 cups gluten-free rolled oats (raw)
  • small handful of dried currents
  • small handful chopped golden raisins
  • small handful chopped dried apple slices
  • small handful chopped unsalted peanuts
  • couple big pinches of raw hulled sunflower seeds
  • couple pinches raw pepitas
  • couple pinches millet

Put all the ingredients in a bowl, mix it up and put it in an air tight container. Seriously, that’s it.

All the measurements are estimates really. I started with a cup of oats and then just threw in the other ingredients in the amounts that looked right.

After I mixed it up I felt it needed more oats and a few more pinches of millet. So, just adjust according to your taste! Obviously, you can omit any thing you don’t like or can not have, say the peanuts. Or, add things you do like: almonds, hazelnuts, what have you. I can’t wait to try out some other ingredients like, dried mango, dried coconut, dried apricots and quinoa flakes. Popular ways to eat muesli is over yogurt, or with warm milk. Or, if you are like me, you can also just snack on it right out of the container. I think this would also make a wonderful gift. You can package it up like I did when we made Granola for Grandpa.  It is also very easy for kids to help out with.

Let me know how your muesli turn out and please share any yummy variations! Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Home Made Muesli

    • I hope you and the kids like it!! I am excited to try it out tomorrow morning with some warm coconut milk. Let me know if you make any yummy variations of it! Also, thinking of all the great lessons you do, maybe making the muesli together with the kids could also turn into a fun math lesson if you work on ratios or fractions with the ingredients.

  1. Oh this looks so good. I feel healthier just looking at the photos. I think we’ll try this. I can never find quite the right combination of ingredients that I like. Such a great idea to make your own and have it exactly how you like it.

    • I know! It is so nice to be able to have the right combination of ingredients you like in it…I can’t believe I haven’t made it sooner, it is SO easy. Let me know how yours turns out!

Leave a Reply

